Judge Irvin Taplin Medley Relay

Saturday, July 31, 2021

The Lifeguard Taplin relay consists of four swimmers, four paddlers, and four 2-man dory teams. This annual lifeguard event is the most prestigious lifeguard event in the United States. The Taplin relay has been held every year since 1936 with the exception of 1942 thru 1945, when the event was suspended during World War II. The race is held at night under the spot lights which allows lifeguards to safeguard the beaches during the day and race at night.


Teams from various lifeguard services from throughout Southern California compete in this event each year. The winning team gets the honor of holding the "Taplin Bell" perpetual trophy until the following year's race. The individual names of all sixteen team members from the winning team are engraved on the perpetual trophy to mark their place in history.


In the evening prior to the Taplin relay, spectators will be treated to rescue demonstrations, Jr. Lifeguard relays, Lifeguard Beach Flags and the Chris Linkletter Women's Medley Relay.

Rob McGowan

Event Coordinator

2018 Winning Taplin Team from South Bay.

Photo by: Joel Gitelson

2018 Lifeguard Taplin Relay Champions

L.A. County Southern - A

Chris Linkletter Relay.jpg

Photo by: Dave Story

Honoring L.A. County Lifeguard Section Chief Chris Linkletter with the naming of the newest Taplin night event, the "Chris Linkletter Women's Surf Relay."

New Lifeguard Site Map.jpg
Dory sand shot.png
Dory dropoff.png
1 Michelob Ultra Logo.jpg
1 Essentia Water Logo.png
1 Beachsport Logo.jpg
2019 Toyota Banner.jpg