## 2006 INTERNATIONAL SURF FESTIVAL HERMOSA PIER AUGUST 5 RESULTS

BOYS 14 & under	JR MEN 15-18	MEN 19 & over
DAYTON SILVA	MARK JIMENEZ	AARON OSTER
TIM LANEY	BRENT BOWEN	JESSE LAW
CONNER BEATY	CALEB DANDRIDGE	TIM FERGUSON
RICK GUARDENER	TONY FERNADEZ	ERIC CASTALDO
SHANE FOLEY	RAY MIENHART	SHAWN GUDMANSON
ANDREW ANDRUS	DQ	DQ
18 & under Long Board	19-49 Long Board	50 & up Long Board
COLBEY RODGERS	NICK WEBER	DARYL DICKIE
LARRY UGALLI JR	CHRIS BREDESEN JR	DANNY GACAD
NICK RODGERS	MARK EVANS	JOHN WITHERSPOON
CHRIS TAKAHASI	FRANK HOLMS	TED NICHOLS
KEVIN MCNICOL	MIKE COLLINS	LEON DARLING
RICHARD SPARKS	DANIEL ARMSTRONG	RON GARNER
WOMENS Short board	WOMENS Long Board	BODY BOARD
NATALIE ANVANZINO	ANNE BOARDWELL	SAM HARMON
KATHRYN OGATA	EMMA HERREA	MATT FREEMAN
LISA TUTTLE	SHARON SLAUGHTER	MATT DOMER
SUESAN TUTTLE	LISA TUTTLE	BRITT JOYCE
HILLERY SAFASTATAI	MILLSA NEFF	ANDREW ROBINSON
JACKLYN OGATA	JAMIE POWERS	JEREMY WRIGHT

## **INTERESTING FACTS**

Kathryn Ogata (2005 winner) and daughter Jacklyn womens finalist

Little brother Colbey defeats older bother Nick Rodgers in 18 under Long board final

Larry Ugalli Jr almost wins in 18 and under final in memory of his father Larry Sr a consistent finalist at Aloha Days and Surf Festival who we lost recently.

Nick Weber and Dayton Silva only champions to defend.

Body Board champion Sam Harmon fresh off US Armature Championship title two weeks ago in Oceanside being judge by Johnny Joseph Jr winner of National Title in Virginia Beach in 2001.

The early 1960's this was the 2<sup>nd</sup> most prestigious title in US after Huntington Beach.

Redondo Breakwater site for first five contests. Hermosa Beach resident and former US Jr Surfing Champion John Teague (??why not on Surfers Walk of Fame??) won the first three years when it was only one open division and the top surfers in the world competed.

Walk of Fame members Chris Bredesen Sr and John Joseph Sr were in a few of the early finals with Teague. KTTV channel 11, Bill Walsh hosting, re-surfed the 1962 final with Bredesen, Joseph, David Newevea and Teague for the first live television telecast ever with Bredesen winning.

Daryl Dickie (SWoF) has won 9 straight Surf Festival and Aloha Days titles.